Prior to 1947 the Club had no headquarters, although racing was carried out from a small building on the New Quay. Officially it was the place where you would pay your rent to the Trefusis Estate. Club meetings, prize giving etc. were held in the village hall. In 1948 the then Commodore, Mr H.J. Silley of The Falmouth Docks Company, gave the Club a small steam vessel (but without an engine). Only the wheelhouse was usable and this was used as a starters’ hut and store. After two years it was realised that the maintenance of the boat was too much and she was sold. The Club then moved to the Lawn Cliff Hotel, Flushing, where the proprietors provided two rooms and a bar and this remained the Club’s headquarters until 1959. In January of that year work commenced upon a new Clubhouse on the New Quay, and this is where we've been ever since. The Club was extended in 1966 and again in 1975, with further improvements made recent years. Not large, not grand, but comfortable with a welcoming atmosphere, and dedicated to providing good racing.
But, following yet another leak through the roof ruining the bar cash till accompanied by a lot of cursing in late 2014, Charlie Choak, the then Commodore, asked Dave Owens and Chris Bell to investigate matters and try and get the roof repaired quickly. To cut matters very short and through a rather typically Cornish gem of “project creep,” we have now built a new Clubhouse just in time for our Centenary season.
The new building was designed by local company CAD Architects of Truro and following discussions (lots) with the planning and conservation officers and extensive consultation (even more lots) with the community, we gained planning consent in September 2018 with no objections made and only 8 planning conditions on the permission. Then started the tough bit – raising the money.
Construction, or rather, demolition, began in late 2020 (November 2nd), deep in the time of Covid. The building was completed in May 2021, a testament to the skill and acumen of Fox Construction. Needless to say there were a few hiccups along the way, but the objective of being functional for our Centenary celebrations was achieved.
None of this would have been possible without the support of our members, our generous donors and sponsors (including a range of individuals, charitable organisations, friends, grant-awarding bodies) and a galaxy of volunteers. Truly a team effort. It was always the intention that the new Clubhouse would be a community asset.
On New Quay
Roseland: Race Office
Lawn Cliff Hotel